ILMSA Members Meeting Minutes April 21, 2012

IMSA Chair: Heather Howland Vice Chair: Barbara Delanois Minutes recorded by: Ruth Giles-Ott, Secretary Date/Time of Meeting: April 21, 2012, 7: 16 p.m.

Action Items:

1. Heidi Kafka elected as Vice-President.

Board of Directors Members present: Heather Howland (President, Fossil Fish), Barbara Delanois (Vice-President, Illinois Masters), Phil Dodson (Treasurer, Illinois Masters), Ruth Giles Ott (Secretary, Chicago Smelts), Fred Pigott (Safety Chair), Richard Mueller (Officials Chair), Mark Mattson (Sanctions Chair, Libertyville), John Traynor (Open Water and Long Distance Chair, Deerfield Coho), Laurel Liberty (Coaches Chair, Libertyville), Michael McDonnell (Communications Chair, Libertyville), Skip Montanaro (Records and Tabulations Chair, Evanston Wild Catfish), Chris Colburn (Former Chair, ABM).

Board of Directors Members not present: Erik VanEtten (Registrar, Central Illinois Masters), AJ Block (Records and Tabulations Chair; Health/Fitness Chair, Coho).

Voting Members present: Robert Zeitner (Flying Carp), Heidi Kafka (Chicago Smelts), Michael Thiry (Chicago Smelts), Carl Saxton (Chicago Masters), Heather Lingner (Evanston Masters), Georgia McDaniel (Naperville Waves), Sue Welker (Naperville Waves), Marjorie Pannell (Chicago Blue Dolphins), Dave Casebolt (Shabbona Sharks), Michelle Pajeau (Evanston Masters), Jennie Quill (Elgin Blue Wave), Oz Osbourne (Elgin Blue Wave), Dave Pushka (Naperville Waves), Nadine Day (Danville Silver Dolphins).

Non-voting Members present: none Proxies held: Robert Zeitner (Coho), Heather Howland (Unattached), John Traynor (Central Illinois Masters), Phil Dodson (Rock)

Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 7:16 p.m.

- I. Officer Reports
 - No report given.

- b. Vice Chair
 - No report given.
- c. Secretary
 - December 2011 minutes were reviewed, and some housekeeping details were discussed: the inclusion of the word, "tabulation," and the correct spelling of Carl Saxton's name. Michael McDonnell moved to approve the minutes, Oz Osbourne, seconded, and the motion passed unopposed.
 - Coach of the Year Award recipient is Adriana Schack, coach of Northwestern Aquatic Swim Association (NASA) and COHO Masters.
 - John Sloan Memorial Service Award recipient is Heidi Kafka, Chicago Smelts.
- d. Treasurer report given by Phil Dodson
 - Student fee of \$10 replaced by young swimmer fee of \$25.
- e. Registrar's report given by Erik VanEtten
 - No report given.
- II. Committee Reports
 - a. Finance report given by Phil Dodson
 - Discussion of a proposed amendment to the bylaws was tabled in light of disagreement about the notice provisions for bylaws.
 - b. No officials report given ..
 - c. No safety report given
 - d. No records report given
 - e. No coaches report given.
 - f. No communications report given.
 - g. No Health/Fitness report given.
 - h. No sanctions report given.
 - i. No recognition and awards report given.

- III. Election of Vice-President. Heidi Kafka and John Traynor offered themselves as candidates for this position, made statements in favor of their candidacies, and fielded questions from the floor. Ballots were distributed and membership voted.
 - III. New Business
 - A. Robert Zeitner proposed a new award, the Bill Mulliken Legends award.
 - 1. This award would be given only to people who qualify as a legend, whose contributions to the swimming community are very significant. The award would include lifetime USMS and ILMSA membership, a certificate of achievement, and a plaque.
 - As a point of order, Chris Colburn pointed out that Bill Mulliken is 72 years old. The cost of membership in USMS is \$30 for 10 years.
 - 3. Barbara Delanois called the matter to a vote, and Phil Dodson seconded. The motion passed unopposed.
 - B. Heather Howland noted that applications for the USMS national convention in Greensboro, NC, will be made available online as of the next day, April 22, 2012.
 - C. Heidi Kafka named the new Vice-President after the ballots were tallied.

IV. Motion to Destroy the ballots of the Vice President made by Phil Dodson, seconded by Chris Colburn. Motion carried unopposed. Ballots destroyed by Barbara Delanois.

V. Nadine Day requested that the ILMSA minutes be posted online. Ruth Giles-Ott agreed to do that.

VI. Motion to Adjourn

- Motion to adjourn, Phil Dodson, Chris Colburn(second).
- Motion unopposed.
- Meeting adjourned at 7:46 p.m.