# USMS Convention — Kansas City, Missouri 2015

Committee Name: Dixie Zone Committee Chair: Matt Hooper Minutes recorded by: Lisa Watson Session #:

1

Vice Chair: None Date/time of meeting: 10/1/2015 5:45 PM

## Actions Requiring Approval by the HOD:

1.

### Motions Passed:

- 1. MSA TO AWARD THE 2016 DIXIE ZONE CHAMPIONSHIPS TO: ATLANTA, GA-SCY; GOLDSBORO,NC-LCM; GREENSBORO, NC- OPEN WATER; NASHVILLE, TN-SCM.
- 2. MSA TO RE-ELECT MATT HOOPER AS DIXIE ZONE CHAIR.

Number of committee members present: 45 Absent: Number of other delegates present:

Committee members present: Matt Hooper (Chair), Lisa Watson, Jillian Wilkins, Chris Frederic, Jerry Clark, Don Gilchrist, Steve Weatherman, Kristen Smith, Tom Cox, JoAnn Wainwright, Richard Garza, Joan Campbell, Bob Jennings, Helen Naylor, Debbie Cavanaugh, Cav Cavanaugh, Allison Ware, Barb Protzman, Scott Bay, Greta Van Meeteren, Jack Groselle, Megan Lassen, Ed Saltzman, Rob Copeland, Hill Carrow, Maria Elias-Williams, David Morrill, Sean Fitzgerald, Cheryl Kupan, Marty Hendrick, Chris McPherson, Doug Holmes, Viki Hull, Carolyn Moore, Diane Bartlett, Holly Newman, Jay Eckars, Marianne Groenings, Jim Kryka, Nancy Kryka, Laura Groselle, Claire Letendre, Rob Butcher, Jim Matysek, Anna Lea Matysek

### **Minutes**

The meeting was called to order at .5:45 PM

1. ROLL CALL/ATTENDANCE-All of the Dixie Zone members introduced themselves.

2. REPORTS OF OFFICERS

Ed Saltzman, Dixie Zone Top Ten/Records Chair, informed the committee that there are still some meets who do not send in results in a timely manner or at all. Also, meet hosts need to be sure that the results are submitted in publication format. Ed stressed that if this problem continues, we would not be able to advertise those meets any longer that do not adhere to the guidelines for submitting results. Ed encouraged the LMSC Chairs to let their Sanction chairs know about this issue. It was suggested that Ed email all LMSC Chairs with a general statement regarding this situation, but also have the LMSC Sanction Chair target the specific offender. Jerry Clark suggested having the meet host post a bond, which would be returned if they submit results correctly.

#### 3. DIXIE ZONE CHAMPIONSHIPS

- A. 2015 Dixie Zone Championships- Those that have already been held are Clearwater-SCY; Greenville-LCM; and Chattanooga-Open Water. SCM is Orlando-that meet is scheduled for this coming weekend.
- B. 2016 Dixie Zone Championships- Matt asked for bids for the 2016 Dixie Zone Championships. They were as follows: SCY- Atlanta, GA tentative dates April 2-3

LCM- Goldsboro, NC late July Open Water- Chattanooga, TN (June 17) and Greensboro, NC (July 25) SCM- Nashville, TN (November 19&20) and Orlando, FL (October 8-10) Votes were tabulated by Maria Elias-Williams and Allison Ware. **MSA TO AWARD THE 2016 DIXIE ZONE CHAMPIONSHIPS TO: ATLANTA,GA-SCY; GOLDSBORO,NC-LCM; GREENSBORO, NC- OPEN WATER; NASHVILLE, TN-SCM.** 

#### 4. ZONE CHAIR ELECTIONS

The candidates for Dixie Zone Chair for the next 2 year term were Matt Hooper and Greta Van Meeteren. The votes again were tabulated by Maria Elias Williams and Allison WARE. **MSA TO RE-ELECT MATT HOOPER AS DIXIE ZONE CHAIR.** 

- DISCUSSION OF ZONE NAME There was discussion of a name change for the Dixie Zone. The consensus was to leave the name as it is.
- 6. OLD BUSINESS –None
- 7. NEW BUSINESS- None

The meeting was adjourned at. 6:45 PM